Free ConsultationsSe Habla Español940-382-1976

Real Representation for Real People

A Law Firm for the Legal Needs in Your Life

Texas Driving While License Invalid

Driving While With Invalid License | Magaña & Van Dyke

Defense for Driving with a Suspended License in Texas

Though it does not seem like a serious charge when compared to that for DWI or theft, an arrest for Driving While License Invalid (DWLI) or Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) is a serious offense in Texas. A conviction can subject you to jail time, a criminal record, fines, and surcharges. If you have previously been found guilty of DWLI or DWLS, the new offense can be raised to a higher-level charge.

An offense is committed when the driver is operating a motor vehicle:

  • After the driver's license has been canceled and not renewed;
  • During a period that the driver's license or privilege is suspended or revoked under any law;
  • While the driver's license is expired if the license expired during a period of suspension; or
  • After the renewal of the person's driver's license has been denied under any law of the state.

At Magaña & Van Dyke, we can provide the aggressive defense you need to fight your charge.

Speak with one of our experienced Denton criminal defense attorneys by calling 940-382-1976 today.

Texas Driving While License Invalid Penalties

In Texas, Driving While License Invalid or Driving While License Suspended is considered a Class B misdemeanor. If convicted, you will likely face with jail time and/or a fine between $100 and $500.

Texas Driving While License Invalid with Previous Conviction

If you have a prior DWLS/DWLI conviction, then the DWLS/DWLI charge can be raised to a Class A misdemeanor, meaning you could face up to 1 year in jail and/or fines of up to $4,000.

A DWLI charge is sometimes charged in addition to DWI, if there is evidence to support the claim.

Contact Our Denton County Driving With Suspended License Attorneys

For help protecting your future and seeking to minimize the chances of any other charges being added, speak with one of our Denton attorneys as soon as possible.

Schedule a free consultation by calling 940-382-1976 or submitting an online contact form. We provide legal representation in Denton County and the surrounding areas.

Back to Top