Free ConsultationsSe Habla Español940-382-1976

Real Representation for Real People

A Law Firm for the Legal Needs in Your Life

What Are the Penalties for Domestic Violence in Illinois?

 Posted on June 22,2024 in Criminal Defense

Aurora, IL domestic violence defense lawyerDomestic violence can come in several forms, such as physical, emotional, or verbal abuse, and when these acts are committed by a person against a family member or someone in the same household, they are considered domestic violence. Domestic violence is taken seriously in Illinois, and domestic violence situations often involve considerable conflict and strong emotions.

If you are accused of domestic violence, it is important to understand the potential penalties associated with this charge and to contact an Illinois domestic violence defense attorney right away.

Illinois Battery Violence Penalties

One of the most severe forms of domestic violence is domestic battery, which is abuse that specifically involves causing bodily harm or making insulting or provoking physical contact. Domestic Battery can result in either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and whether or not a person has prior offenses.

Illinois domestic battery penalties include:

  • If you are facing a first-time offense for domestic battery, the charge is a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor carries penalties of up to a year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.

  • If you have a previous offense of domestic battery or a related crime, and you are charged with domestic battery again, this is a Class 4 felony. A Class 4 felony results in a maximum of six years of jail time and fines of up to $25,000.

  • Domestic battery charges that result in severe bodily injury or harm can increase the charge to aggravated domestic battery, which is a Class 2 felony. A Class 2 felony carries penalties of between three and seven years of jail and up to $25,000 in fines, though if you have previous offenses, you could face up to 14 years of jail time.

What Do I Do If I Have Been Accused of Domestic Violence?

If you are facing an accusation of domestic violence in Illinois, it is important to comply with law enforcement and follow all instructions, including following the requirements of a Protective Order.

Additionally, you can follow these tips to help protect your rights after an accusation:

  • Contact a domestic violence defense lawyer as soon as possible. Securing legal counsel is the best way to ensure your rights are protected and to navigate the challenges of a domestic violence accusation.

  • Refrain from making statements or answering questions from police officers. Only answer questions about your name or other basic informational questions to avoid accidentally saying something that can be used against you.

  • Do not contact the person that accused you. Doing this can backfire if the person feels threatened, and you do not want to accidentally incriminate yourself by harassing the person who accused you.

Contact an Aurora, IL Domestic Violence Defense Attorney

Domestic violence accusations are serious, and you will need the help of a Kane County, IL domestic violence defense lawyer to navigate your next steps. Attorney Patricia Magaña is dedicated to providing knowledgeable and compassionate representation as she advocates for your rights against domestic violence charges.

Contact Magaña & Van Dyke at 940-382-1976 for a free consultation. Se habla español

Share this post:
Back to Top